Santander/Cantabria ISSAC 2004

 General  Information
Important Dates
Conference Poster
Organizing Committee
Program and Schedule
Invited Talks
Contributed Talks
Software Exhibitions
Registered Participants
 Call  For
Research Papers
Software Exhibitions
Jenks Prize Nominations
 Local  Information
Conference Location
Speakers' Information
Gastronomic Guide
Additional Information
Social Events
Previous ISSACs
Other Events



Call for Papers

ISSAC is the yearly premier international symposium in Symbolic and Algebraic Computation. It provides an opportunity to learn of new developments and to present original research results in all areas of symbolic mathematical computation. Planned activities include invited presentations, research papers, poster sessions, tutorial courses, vendor exhibits and software demonstrations.

ISSAC'2004 will be held at the University of Cantabria in Santander, Spain, from July 4 to 7, 2004.

Important Dates

Extended Deadline for Submissions: January 14, 2004
(midnight [24:00 EST])
Extended Notification of Acceptance: March 10, 2004
Camera-ready copy received: May 1, 2004

Conference Topics

Topics of the meeting include, but are not limited to:

Algorithmic mathematics

Algebraic, symbolic and symbolic-numeric algorithms. Simplification, function manipulation, equations, summation, integration, ODE/PDE, linear algebra, number theory, group and geometric computing.

Computer Science

Theoretical and practical problems in symbolic computation. Systems, problem solving environments, user interfaces, software, libraries, parallel/distributed computing and programming languages for symbolic computation, concrete analysis, benchmarking, theoretical and practical complexity of computer algebra algorithms, automatic differentiation, code generation, mathematical data structures and exchange protocols.


Problem treatments using algebraic, symbolic or symbolic-numeric computation in an essential or a novel way. Engineering, economics and finance, physical and biological sciences, computer science, logic, mathematics, statistics, education.

Instructions to Authors

Original research results and insightful analyses of current concerns are solicited for submission. Submissions must not substantially duplicate work published or submitted for publication elsewhere. Late submissions will be rejected.

Papers will be reviewed by a program committee and additional referees. Proceedings will be distributed at the symposium.

Papers must be in English and should not exceed 8 pages in the standard format for ACM proceedings, or 20 to 22 pages of text in LaTeX 12pt article style.

To submit your contribution, please visit the Paper Submission Page.

Each paper should have an abstract as well as an introductory section that:

  • Describes the problem.
  • Motivates the study of the problem.
  • States the main results and compares them to other work (including theoretical or empirical performance).
  • Summarizes the original aspects of the contribution.

Formatting requirements will be based on the ACM Proceedings Templates. For instance in LaTeX2e you should use the acm_proc_article-sp.cls document class to format your document. For information concerning ACM Proceedings Templates see

Authors of accepted papers are expected to present their work at the symposium, or make arrangements to have it presented, and will be required to sign the ACM copyright agreement (cf. Some papers may be accepted for poster-session presentation; these will not appear in the proceedings. Abstracts of all posters will be distributed at the symposium. For poster submissions please consult the Call for Posters.

Best student author award

This award will be given to the best student author. An author who is a Full-time student at the time of submission is eligible for the award. This status should be indicated when the paper is submitted.

For details concerning the selection procedure for this award as well as the procedure for the ISSAC Distinguished Paper Award, see the ISSAC Award Guidelines.

Conference Committee

General Chair

Josef Schicho

Program Committee

Moulay Barkatou
Arjeh M. Cohen
Shuhong Gao
Karin Gatermann
Patricia Gianni
Serkan Hosten
Erich Kaltofen
Richard Liska
Bernard Mourrain
Masayuki Noro
Marie-Francoise Roy
Bruno Salvy
Rafael Sendra
Michael Singer (Chair)
Gilles Villard
Dongming Wang
Stephen Watt
Franz Winkler

  issac2004 @