Awards and Prizes

SIGSAM administers the Jenks Prize for Software Engineering applied to Computer Algebra, as well as Distinguished Paper awards at the annual ISSAC meeting.

Several SIGSAM members have been named ACM Fellows since the ACM Fellows Program was established in 1993.

SIGSAM actively seeks to promote members for ACM awards and other prizes. If you see an opportunity to recognize excellent work in computer algebra and scientific computation, please bring it to the attention of the SIGSAM Chair.

Richard D. Jenks Prize

Administered by SIGSAM, the ACM SIGSAM Richard Dimick Jenks Memorial Prize is awarded for Excellence in Software Engineering applied to Computer Algebra.

The purpose of the Jenks Prize is to recognize outstanding software engineering contributions in the field of computer algebra and to encourage future excellence in such research and development. The prize is named in memory of Richard Dimick Jenks who, during his life and professional career, provided leadership to the computer algebra community and made important contributions to software engineering; applied to algebraic computation. The prize is given out every two years, at the International Symposium on Symbolic and Algebraic Computation (ISSAC).

  • The 2013 Jenks Prize went to William Stein
  • The 2011 Jenks Prize went to the Maple Project at the University of Waterloo
  • The 2008 Jenks Prize went to the GAP Group: Groups, Algorithms and Programming
  • The 2006 Jenks Prize went to Prof. John J. Cannon of The University of Sydney
  • The 2004 Jenks Prize Jenks Prize went to the SINGULAR team of the University of Kaiserslautern

For more information see the Jenks Prize webpage.

ISSAC Awards

SIGSAM sponsors awards for Distinguished Papers and Distinguished Student Authors at the annual International Symposium on Symbolic and Algebraic Computation (ISSAC).

The latest award winners are below. For a record of all previous winners, the award citations, links to papers and details of other prizes awarded: see the ISSAC Awards webpage.

ISSAC 2014

  • Distinguished Paper:

    Francois Le Gall for Powers of Tensors and Fast Matrix Multiplication.

  • Distinguished Student Authors:

    Shiyun Yang for Linear independence oracles and applications to low rank linear algebra (with Arne Storjohann).

    Carlos Arreche for Computing the differential Galois group of a parameterized second-order linear differential equation.